Sherwood Award

Center Theatre Group’s $10,000 Richard E. Sherwood Award for emerging theatre artists is given annually to nurture innovative and adventurous theatre artists working in Los Angeles.

Sherwood Award

The Sherwood Award nurtures emerging artists and invites them to engage in a professional relationship with Center Theatre Group. Sherwood Award recipients demonstrate leadership qualities, push existing boundaries, and are dedicated to improving the future of their respective artistic fields. Applications are opened each spring. Artists are not limited by title, role, or genre, but they must have a relationship to contemporary performance rooted in theatre.

The Sherwood Award was established in 1996 by the Sherwood family in memory of Richard E. Sherwood, a patron of the arts who was passionately committed to theatre and had a special appreciation for the energy and talent of emerging artists. A former president of LACMA, he was president and then chairman of the Center Theatre Group Board of Directors from 1980 until his passing in 1993.

Submissions for the 2019 Sherwood Award will be open this spring.

For more information or any questions about the Sherwood Award, please contact

If we are to have a dynamic theatre expressing the world of the 21st century, we must recognize and nourish the explorative artist, particularly in the struggle of the early years of a career.

Dee Sherwood, wife of the late Richard E. Sherwood

2018 Sherwood Award Recipient

On January 29, 2018 Center Theatre Group selected set and projection designer Hana S. Kim as the 2018 Sherwood Award recipient for her exceptional contribution to the Los Angeles theatre landscape and her work as an innovative and adventurous artist.

Hana S. Kim

Hana S Kim. Photo by Ryan Miller/Capture Imaging.

Hana S. Kim is a live performance set and projection designer with a background in film design. Her designs have received Stage Raw Awards, StageSceneLA Awards, Bay Area Theatre Critics Circle Awards, and Helen Hayes Awards, as well as nominations for the Ovation Awards and Theatre Bay Area Awards. Hana’s most recent work includes projection design for Steal A Pencil For Me directed by Omer Ben Seadia at Opera Colorado, scenic and projection design for Eva Trilogy directed by Loretta Greco at the Magic Theatre in San Francisco, and The Christians directed by Hana Sharif at Baltimore Center Stage. She is a member of United Scenic Artists Local 829 and recipient of a Princess Grace Award in Theatre Design.

This year's selection process was made possible by a diverse group of external reviewers outside of Center Theatre Group. Ann Closs-Farley, a previous Sherwood Award winner (Costume Design—2010), was invited to review the first pool of applicants. Her insightful feedback as a previous recipient and an established working theatre artist helped to narrow down the pool to eight semi-finalists. The semi-finalist applications were then sent to a panel of five accomplished theatre professionals based on their experience and expertise in the Los Angeles community. Their analyses and judicious questions provided the basis for the structure of each interview with the Sherwood Award Artistic Program Coordinator Miranda Wright and the Sherwood Fellow Diana Sanchez. Center Theatre Group would like to thank Ann Closs-Farley, Oanh Nguyen (Artistic Director, Chance Theater), Ameenah Kaplan (Sherwood Award winner, Director—2007), Ralph Flores (Senior Project Specialist, Public Programs for Getty Villa), Naomi Okuyama (Santa Monica Cultural Affairs), and Edgar Miramontes (Associate Director, REDCAT) for their time in helping us recognize the next Sherwood Award recipient.

Sherwood Award Requirements

Applicants must be:

  • An individual artist (no groups or teams)
  • A resident of Los Angeles for at least two years
  • An artist who has developed/collaborated on at least two fully produced projects in Los Angeles
  • Emerging in their field (which does not reflect the age of the artists, but where they are in the trajectory of their careers)

Sherwood Award priorities:

Competitive candidates will demonstrate the following qualities:

  • Innovative—introducing new ideas; original and creative in thinking
  • Pushing boundaries—extending frontiers, experimenting, challenging the theatrical norm, finding new forms of artistic expression
  • Exceptional talent—the ability to capture the attention of the audience through pure skill and craft, a natural ability or aptitude in the selected field, translating passion and dedication into works of art, etc.
  • Effective communication—theatre artists who can passionately and effectively communicate their point of view and distinct artistic voice.

Sherwood Fellowship

To aid the Sherwood Artistic Programs Coordinator and Center Theatre Group's Artistic Development Program in the administration and coordination of the award process, a professional fellowship is offered to an emerging and aspiring arts professional. In addition to a stipend, the fellow receives a mentorship in contemporary theatre and gains exposure to contemporary work being presented in Los Angeles.

To request more information about the Sherwood Fellowship, please e-mail