You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

Your browser doesn't support some features required by this website. Some features may be unavailable in Safari Private Browsing mode.

Skip to content
{{ timeRemainingDiff.format('m:ss') }} remaining to complete purchase. Why?
Your cart has expired.

Hana S. Kim Selected As 2018 Sherwood Award Recipient


Center Theatre Group’s $10,000 Award Supports Emerging L.A. Theatre Artists

Center Theatre Group recognizes and celebrates the recipient of the 2018 Richard E. Sherwood Award, Hana S. Kim, for her exceptional contribution to the Los Angeles theatre landscape and her work as a ground-breaking and adventurous artist.

Created in memory of Richard E. Sherwood, the $10,000 award aims to cultivate emerging theatre artists working in Los Angeles who push the formal and aesthetic boundaries and demonstrate dedication to improving their respective artistic fields. The recipient of the $10,000 award was announced at the 2018 Ovation Awards on Monday, January 29, 2018, at The Theatre at Ace Hotel.

The two additional finalists, Gina Young and Marsian De Lellis, will receive a $2,000 honorarium. Hana S. Kim is a live performance set and projection designer with a background in film design. Her designs have received Stage Raw Awards, StageSceneLA Awards, Bay Area Theatre Critics Circle Awards and Helen Hayes Awards, as well as nominations for the Ovation Awards and Theatre Bay Area Awards. Hana’s most recent work includes projection design for “Steal A Pencil For Me” directed by Omer Ben Seadia at Opera Colorado, scenic and projection design for “Eva Trilogy” directed by Loretta Greco at the Magic Theatre in San Francisco and “The Christians” directed by Hana Sharif at Baltimore Center Stage. She is a member of United Scenic Artists Local 829 and recipient of Princess Grace Award in Theatre Design.

Originally created in 1996, the Sherwood Award has met a vital need in the theatre landscape to support emerging artists.

Richard E. Sherwood was a patron of the arts with a special appreciation for emerging artists who are in the vanguard of theatre. He was president and then chairman of the Center Theatre Group Board of Directors from 1980 until his passing in 1993. The award is established as an endowed fund at Center Theatre Group by his family, friends, colleagues and fellow board members, to honor Sherwood’s passionate commitment to theatre.

Past recipients of the Richard E. Sherwood Award include lighting designer Pablo Santiago, Miwa Matreyek of Cloud Eye Control, Sean Cawelti of Rogue Artists Ensemble, Miranda Wright of Los Angeles Performance Practice, Lars Jan of Early Morning Opera, lighting designer Christopher Kuhl and costume designer Ann Closs-Farley, among others.

Center Theatre Group, one of the nation’s preeminent arts and cultural organizations, is Los Angeles’ leading nonprofit theatre company, which, under Artistic Director Michael Ritchie, programs seasons at the 736-seat Mark Taper Forum and 1600 to 2000-seat Ahmanson Theatre at The Music Center in Downtown Los Angeles, and the 317-seat Kirk Douglas Theatre in Culver City. In addition to presenting and producing the broadest range of theatrical entertainment in the country, Center Theatre Group is one of the nation’s leading producers of ambitious new works through commissions and world premiere productions and a leader in interactive community engagement and education programs that reach across generations, demographics and circumstance to serve Los Angeles.

# # #

February 1, 2018